Thomas Jefferson… Brilliance

My sister forwarded an email to me the other containing a selection of quotes from Thomas Jefferson. Really great examples of the timelessness of applied logic and wisdom. But, I never believe anything that is forwarded to me so I thought I would do some reading. I found on the a resource through the University of Virginia Website that I decided was pretty credible. The following quotes deserve to be shared;

  • “I fear, from the experience of the last twenty-five years, that morals do not of necessity advance hand in hand with the sciences.” –Thomas Jefferson to M. Correa de Serra, 1815. ME 14:331
  • “The nation who [has] never admitted a chapter of morality into her political code,… [will] boldly [avow] that whatever power [she] can make hers is hers of right.” –Thomas Jefferson to John Langdon, 1810. (*) ME 12:375
  • “I may further say that I have not observed men’s honesty to increase with their riches.” –Thomas Jefferson to Jeremiah Moor, 1800. FE 7:454
    • I would exchange men’s with political entity, be it a politician, office or agency.
  • “The sheep are happier of themselves than under the care of the wolves.” –Thomas Jefferson: Notes on Virginia Q.XI, 1782. ME 2:129

Those are just a few. Look up Thomas Jefferson. Comment a quote.

Thanks

Published in: on February 13, 2009 at 2:15 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dvip.wordpress.com/2009/02/13/thomas-jefferson-brilliance/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

