Homosexuality and Religion

OK, not that there is anything “wrong” with being gay… The way I see the question if being gay and whether or not the lifestyle can be consistent with being a Christan is fairly simple. First, there is no reason a Christian should have any problem with a homosexual person. The issue is with homosexuality, love the sinner – hate the sin. That out of the way now go read Romans 1, I’ll wait….

OK. If there is any question after that. I’ll repeat the argument I have heard the most which is – homosexuality is not a choice, people are born gay or straight. Alright, well, people are born with all sorts of self destructive impulses. I was born with a very addictive personality. Lots of substance abuse and alcoholism in my family’s history. So far though I have not found anyone that has told me to embrace and feed my addictive desires. But I was born this way! Why should I not be free to pursue all the alcohol and drugs I can consume? Yet that is exactly how homosexuality is treated.

As for gay marriage… What ever happened to the separation of Church and state? How can the same group of individuals who run around screaming about nativity scenes and other religious references in public places turn around and try to use the power of the state to force Christians to accept, condone and endorse their lifestyle? Particularly when in the Bible (Romans 1) it expressly condemns not only the people who engage in this type of sin but also those Christians that approve of these things.

I believe civil unions should grant gay couples every privilege and penalty that is afforded to straight couples they pay taxes like everybody else excluding of course most of the current administration.

So guess what. Life isn’t fair. Not everybody is created equal. Some people have more to deal with than others. Suck it up and live right!

Published in: on March 10, 2009 at 2:49 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dvip.wordpress.com/2009/03/10/homosexuality-and-religion/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi thanks for a great post. I’ll be back šŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the comment… see ya

  2. People often say homosexuality is an Old Testament thing. But there it is in Romans, and then repeated again in Revelation. You can be pretty sure that something called an abomination before the Age of Grace and still called an abomination during the Age of Grace is exactly that – and abomination. I like your analogy about being born with addictive behavior. I don’t doubt some people are born toward homosexual tendencies. Doesn’t mean they should do that which they are born toward if it is wrong. I might be born with a desire to kill people. Doesn’t mean I should kill people.

    • Exactly… I’m working on my next analogy/blog. Compare and contrast an ecosystem to the economy. Not all the way there yet.


Leave a Reply

